Posted by: laurdsed | August 6, 2011

Robin’s nest

One morning this month I found a pile of grass on the back steps, I remember thinking, “Sheesh, I wish the boys would clean up after themselves.”  I was then confused when the pile of grass ended up on the light by the back door.  “Hmmm, I didn’t think they could reach up that far.  I wonder what they’re up to?”  Next day revealed a new nest.  “Silly bird.  Don’t they know we exclusively use this door to go in and out of the house?”  Well, apparently, this pair of robins thought the back door light a very good place to lay two eggs.  So, my slight irritation has been replaced with wonder and excitement as the boys and I have fun observing two baby robins hatch and grow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

